Ph.D. Minor: Human Sexuality

This minor is co-directed by the Kinsey Institute and the Interdepartmental Graduate Committee on Human Sexuality. The Human Sexuality Program offers a doctoral minor of 12 credits from related interdisciplinary subject areas.


The program covers a basic yet broad overview of human sexuality. Students examine the behavioral, biological, cultural, and social components of sexuality and also study of the role of sexuality in the arts and public policy. The program is particularly useful for persons entering fields involving the social and behavioral sciences, education, health science and medicine, counseling and therapy, nursing, social work, humanities, criminal justice, and public policy.

The Human Sexuality minor is intended for students currently enrolled in doctoral programs such as:

  • Counseling
  • Education
  • Gender studies
  • Health behavior
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

Selecting an advisor

Students should select an advisor from our list of Kinsey Institute affiliated faculty

Course requirements

Only one core course (K690, H555, or S522) is required. Students may take all courses for credit toward the minor, with the remaining hours being selected—upon consent of the student’s minor area faculty advisor—from other courses that have a major emphasis on sexuality. 

Stating intention

All students intending to complete the Ph.D. minor in Human Sexuality should notify the program co-chairs:

William Yarber, H.S.D.
Applied Health Science
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
(812) 855-7974

Justin R. Garcia, Ph.D.
Kinsey Institute
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN
(812) 855-7586

Affiliated Faculty

The following faculty are members in the University Graduate School faculty and have the endorsement to direct doctoral disser­tations. For a complete list of faculty members, please see the University Graduate School Bulletin.

  • Judith Allen (History)
  • C. Sue Carter (Biology, Kinsey Institute)
  • Gracia Clark (Anthropology)
  • Justin R. Garcia (Gender Studies, Kinsey Institute)
  • Julia R. Heiman (Psychological and Brain Sciences, Psychiatry)
  • Sumie Jones (Emerita, Comparative Literature, East Asian Languages and Cultures)
  • Stephanie Kane (Criminal Justice)
  • Noretta Koertge (Emerita, History and Philosophy of Science)
  • Beth Meyerson (Applied Health Science)
  • Jean Robinson (Political Science)
  • Stephanie A. Sanders (Gender Studies, Kinsey Institute)
  • David H. Smith (Emeritus, Religious Studies)
  • Beverly Stoeltje (Anthropology)
  • Virginia J. Vitzthum (Anthropology)
  • Martin Weinberg (Sociology)
  • Brenda Weber (Gender Studies)
  • Colin Williams (Sociology, Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis)
  • Paul Wright (Media School)
IU Signature